2019 State Debate Meet by Mya Maxwell

This year, Madison had two teams competing in the 2019 South Dakota State A Debate Meet. Both teams competed in Public Forum for class A. The meet was held on a particularly cold and snowy Friday night from 6:15 to 9 pm in the O'Gorman High School. Team one consisted of Lucas Mayberry and Sage Weaver. The team lost all three rounds, but showed great zest and enthusiasm in their skillful debates. Team two included Claire Boyko and Mya Maxwell. Unfortunately, they also lost their three rounds on that bleak Friday night. However, Boyko described her night as, “a fun learning experience!" and "can’t wait for next year!” Maxwell commented that it was, “certainly a birthday she’d never forget.”

Congratulations to Lars Isaac Andersen and Nathan Loutsch from Milbank High school who took home the first place trophies in Public Forum from the Class A division at the state meet. Placing Milbank High School in second overall for the meet. Spearfish High School came out on top and Beresford in third.